For some organizations, special fundraising permits can be purchased once per calendar year, valid for a total of six days under the same rules for restaurants.  Grain alcohol prohibited as a beverage. Between July 1, 2010 and June 30, 2018, any holder of a non-sale licence may permit persons 18 years of age and older to sell alcoholic beverages if less than 50% of their gross sales are derived from the sale of alcoholic beverages. Effective July 1, 2018, any holder of a non-sale sales licence may permit individuals 18 years of age or older to sell alcoholic beverages if less than 50% of their gross sales are derived from the sale of alcoholic beverages or if the licensee or an employee who is at least 21 years of age is on the premises at the time the alcoholic beverage is sold. Restriction of alcohol and wet/dry sales (both per drink and per package) allowed by both the county and city local option. About 39 counties in the state (mainly the eastern and southern counties) are dry, all sale and possession of alcohol is prohibited; 22 “wet” counties (with “wet” cities allowing the sale of packaging spirits in otherwise dry counties); 29 counties that are otherwise dry but have municipalities with local options that allow the sale of spirits through beverage, or under special exceptions that allow sale in wineries. The majority of wet counties are located around large metropolitan areas (Louisville, Lexington, Covington, Bowling Green). Note: Since 2013, alcohol by drink and beer by drink are available on Sundays in Louisville, KY starting at 10:00 am. Bowling Green, KY, recently began Sunday sales in December 2013 for beer, wine and spirits. The ban on the sale of spirits on election day was lifted with effect from 24 June 2013.
Kentucky was one of only two states that still had a ban on Election Day, the other being South Carolina. While there is no ban on selling alcoholic beverages in grocery stores, New Jersey limits each chain to two licenses, so most supermarkets/convenience stores/gas stations/pharmacies don`t sell alcoholic beverages with a few exceptions. In addition, the sale of spirits is only allowed in a separate department store or affiliated store. The ability of a “liquor store” to sell other items, such as convenience store rates, is determined by the municipality. Many cities allow beer, wine and liquor stores to sell non-alcoholic items, including convenience items at the same checkout. In these cities, grocery stores, including chains, can theoretically apply for and obtain a liquor license if the business doesn`t already have two in the state. Bars are allowed to sell packaged products. With the exception of Jersey City and Newark, all municipalities MUST authorize the sale of beer and wine at all times.
However, since alcoholic beverages are generally only found at truck stops, this right is rarely exercised. Alcoholic beverages with the beverage as well as the sale of beer and wine are allowed in Atlantic City and Brigantine 24 hours a day. While there is no minimum age to sell beer and wine in off-sales establishments licensed to sell beer and wine, an employee of a spirits retail outlet must be at least 21 years of age. On 17 July 1984, the National Minimum Drinking Age Act was passed. The law requires all states to set their minimum age for purchasing liquor and the minimum age for possessing liquor in public at at least 21 or lose 10 percent (changed to 8 percent in 2012) of their federal funding allocated to highways if the minimum age for the above is less than 21. In July 1988, all 50 states and the District of Columbia had a minimum purchasing age of 21, with some grandfathering clauses and with the exception of Louisiana`s complicated legal situation, which was not resolved until July 2, 1996.   Prior to 1988, the minimum age of purchase varied by province or territory. After the law went into effect, states that did not comply were denied a portion of their federal highway budgets. South Dakota and Wyoming were the last two states to comply in mid-1988. Because the law does not limit the minimum drinking age or the minimum age for private possession of alcohol, most states continue to allow people under the age of 21 to drink under certain circumstances.